23rd Nov, 2022
Minecraft Realms is what you need to create your own private online Minecraft server with friends. Minecraft Realms is a better option than playing in an online Minecraft world. Realms can be accessed by anyone who has invited them. You can play whenever you like in a shared world. There's more to them than that. You'll need to pay a monthly premium subscription to access them. We have all the information you need to explain what Minecraft Realms are, their cost, how to set them up, and much more.
Minecraft Realms allow you to invite ten players to join your private multiplayer server. Each player has access to the online server. You can create a new Realm or convert an existing one into one. Realms are a premium feature. To keep your Realm open to others, you will need to pay a monthly fee. You can also receive new content every month depending on your subscription. This includes maps, mini-games and character skins.
Your Realm will remain online 24 hours a day, so anyone you invite to play with you will be able access your Realm whenever they want, regardless of whether you are there. You have complete control over who can play on the Realm. You can revoke access at anytime. This makes it a safe place for younger gamers to play with their friends and not worry about who they might be interfacing with.
Minecraft Realms can be accessed on PC, Xbox Series X and Xbox One. You can also access your Realm from mobile devices if you have the same Minecraft account. Crossplay is also available for Realms that use the Bedrock Edition. This allows you to invite your friends regardless of their platform. Crossplay is not possible between Java Editions of Minecraft. Java Edition PC players cannot join the Realm of a Bedrock Edition Xbox Series X player.
It is important to note that Minecraft Realms, for either Minecraft edition, do not support mods. Java Realms supports the Minecraft Marketplace, but Java Realms Plus has a range of Marketplace packs. Java Realms Plus also supports user-created content. You may need to search for an alternative if Minecraft mods are important to you.
You pay a monthly fee to keep Minecraft open as a Realm. There are three types of Realms subscriptions, each with its own benefits.
Realms (Bedrock Edition), $3.99/PS3.29 per Month. The basic Minecraft Realms for Bedrock Edition cost $3.99/PS3.29/month. This allows you to invite up to two friends to access your private online world. This subscription supports Minecraft Marketplace and includes three World Slots. It also allows crossplay between Bedrock devices and consoles.
Realms Plus (Bedrock Edition) = $7.99/PS6.69 per month
Minecraft Realms Plus, an enhanced version of Realms, includes all the benefits of the regular subscription as well as access to over 150 Marketplace pack and monthly Minecraft Marketplace content. Another benefit is the ability to invite up to 10 players to your Realm. If you have never signed up for Realms before, you will get a 30-day trial.
Realms (Java Edition) = $7.99/PS6.69 per month
Realms Plus is the only option that offers Java Edition, but it costs twice as much. Java Edition does not support Minecraft Marketplace, however, you can invite up to 10 Java Edition friends into your private Realm server. You also have 24/7 access to the server and three World Slots. This means that you can't purchase or use anything on the marketplace, and you won't have access to the monthly updates or over 150 content packs. Java Edition Realms instead receives free community-created content.
You can cancel any subscription at any time if you don't feel you are getting enough. You have 18 months to download your Realm Worlds after cancelling your subscription. After that, they will be permanently deleted. You can replace your new Minecraft Realms world with a downloaded backup of a previous Realm world, if you sign up again for Minecraft Realms.
You should be watching out for monthly updates if you have opted for the 10-player Realms Plus subscription. Realms Plus offers new maps, character skins and mini-games every month. It seems absurd not to check them out.
It is worth noting that Minecraft can be played for free if you have a PC Game Pass or Xbox Game Pass subscription. However, Realms will still need to be purchased. You can also play Minecraft in a limited browser-based edition for free.
Learn more about the best Minecraft seeds
You can start from scratch and create your own world in Realms. Once you are satisfied with your settings, click the 'Create Realms Server' button. The next step is to choose between a 10-player or 2-player Realm. Once you have accepted the Terms and Conditions and completed the transaction, your new Realm will be available immediately. Marketplace goodies will also be available if you chose the 10-player option.
To change the current Realm setting, click the Edit button next to the Realm name to open the game setting menu. You can adjust the game mode, difficulty, name and add cheats from there. Any Minecraft Realms subscription includes three World Slots. This means you don't have to limit yourself to one world.
The good news is that friends you wish to invite to your Realm do not need a Minecraft Realms subscription. Click the Edit button next your Realm world and then choose 'Members' to invite them to your Realm. You will be able to invite others and manage those who already have access to your realm. If they haven't been active for a while or outstayed their welcome, you can 'uninvite them'.
Although you may be able to send unlimited invites, your subscription type will limit the number of people who can play on your Realm simultaneously.
Minecraft Realms doesn't mean you have to stay in the same World. You can create a new World or replace an existing one. You might want to backup your current World first, as you could lose any progress made.
Click the 'Edit” button next to your Realm World and choose 'Download World'. This will save the World to your computer. You can then play it locally or reupload it later if you want.
Click 'Edit' again next to your Realm World and choose 'Replace World'. After you confirm the action, you will be presented with a list with available worlds to replace it. Once you have selected the world, it will be uploaded and then you can go.